Founding a civil law company (GbR)

Our law firm advise you on these issues:

  • How is a GbR founded?
  • How is a GbR treated for tax purposes?
  • What is the advantage of a GbR?
  • What is the disadvantage of a GbR?

A company under civil law (GbR) is a partnership and is also called a BGB-Gesellschaft. The prerequisite for the foundation of the company is that at least two shareholders are involved in it. To do this, the partners must unite in the partnership agreement for a common purpose. The purpose does not necessarily have to be of an economic nature. An ideal purpose is sufficient, such as the establishment of a shared apartment. Every partner has a duty to promote the common purpose. However, the BGB company may not operate a trade according to the German Trade Code. If a trade is operated, this must take the form of an OHG.

Traditionally, freelancers such as doctors, lawyers, tax consultants and auditors come together in a GbR to work together.

With the founding of a GbR, there are, on the one hand, relationships between the partners (internal relationship). On the other hand, there are legal relationships in the external relationship, e.g. their business partners. A civil law company is a legal person. This means that it itself has rights and obligations.

The establishment of a GbR does not necessarily have to be in writing. This means that a GbR can be founded with the common purpose and the commencement of a common activity, such as a professional practice. In such a case, the legal regulations of the BGB apply. The regulations of the BGB are not numerous. The case law has established essential principles for the GbR. This can be particularly disadvantageous in the event of a shareholder dispute. For this reason, it is important to hire a lawyer specializing in company law to found it, who  will then design the social contract individually.

It is also not necessary, as with a GmbH, that the company has to raise a certain share capital. However, the shareholders have to make a contribution to the success of the GbR and then have to provide for it financially if necessary.

What is the disadvantage of a GbR?

One reason that speaks against a GbR is the liability of the shareholders. In the case of a GbR, each partner is liable with his private assets for the GbR’s liabilities. With increased liability risks, this can lead to undesirable consequences.

How is a GbR treated for tax purposes?

The GbR is tax transparent regarding income taxes. This means that the GbR does not pay corporation tax as with the GmbH, but the shareholders of the GbR have to pay income tax. The GbR’s annual result is then to be divided between the individual shares. Each partner then has to pay income tax on the profit of his share. In addition, the partner must pay a 5.5% percent Solidaritätszuschlag (solidarity surcharge) tax on the fixed income tax.

The following three advantages speak for the foundation of a GbR:

  1. Simple and quick foundation
  2. No special formalities to be observed
  3. No minimum capital provided.

The following three disadvantages speak against the establishment of a GbR:

  1. Inadequate legal regulations
  2. Personal liability of the partners
  3. Mainly interesting for smaller companies

Schedule an appointment now

When founding a new company, we can offer you the foundation of a GbR at a fixed price on the following terms:

Basic

210 zzgl. Umsatzsteuer

Medium

430 zzgl. Umsatzsteuer

Professional

610 zzgl. Umsatzsteuer
Comprehensive advice on the legal form
and the special features of the company
Planning and implementation of the foundation
Elaboration of the individual social contract
(Articles of Association)
Providing a template for the
Managing director contract
Business registration
Tax registration with the tax office

Contact us now


    Kontakt:Wittelsbacherstraße 18 | 10707 Berlin 030 407 417 31info@bildt-law.de

Gesellschaft bürgerlichen Rechts (GbR) gründen

Unsere Kanzlei unterstützt Sie bei folgenden Fragestellungen:

  • Wie wird eine GbR gegründet?
  • Wie wird eine GbR steuerlich behandelt?
  • Welche Vorteile hat die GbR?
  • Welche Nachteile hat die GbR?

Eine Gesellschaft bürgerlichen Rechts (GbR) ist eine Personengesellschaft und wird auch BGB-Gesellschaft genannt. Voraussetzung für die Gründung der Gesellschaft ist, dass an ihr mindestens zwei Gesellschafter beteiligt sind. Dazu müssen sich die Gesellschafter in dem Gesellschaftsvertrag zu einem gemeinsamen Zweck zusammenschließen. Der Zweck muss nicht unbedingt wirtschaftlicher Natur sein. Es genügt ein ideeller Zweck, wie zum Beispiel die Gründung einer Wohngemeinschaft. Jeder Gesellschafter hat die Pflicht, den gemeinsamen Zweck zu fördern. Die BGB-Gesellschaft darf jedoch kein Handelsgewerbe betreiben. Wird ein Handelsgewerbe betrieben, muss dies in Form einer OHG erfolgen.

Traditionellerweise schließen sich Freiberufler wie Ärzte, Rechtsanwälte Steuerberater und Wirtschaftsprüfer in einer GbR zusammen, um gemeinsam ihren Beruf auszuüben.

Mit der Gründung der GbR bestehen zum einen Verhältnisse der Gesellschafter untereinander (Innenverhältnis). Zum anderen bestehen Rechtsverhältnisse im Außenverhältnis. Die Gesellschaft bürgerlichen Rechts ist eine juristische Person. Das bedeutet, dass sie selbst Rechte und Pflichten besitzt.

Die Gründung einer GbR muss nicht zwingend schriftlich erfolgen. Dies bedeutet, dass schon mit dem gemeinsamen Zweck und der Aufnahme einer gemeinsamen Tätigkeit, wie die Berufsausübung eine GbR gegründet werden kann. In einem solchen Fall gelten die gesetzlichen Regelungen des BGB. Die Vorschriften des BGB sind nicht zahlreich. Die Rechtsprechung hat wesentliche Grundsätze für die GbR festgestellt. Dies kann insbesondere bei einem Gesellschafterstreit nachteilig sein. Aus diesem Grund ist es wichtig, einen im Gesellschaftsrecht spezialisierten Anwalt mit der Gründung zu beauftragen. Dieser wird dann den Gesellschaftsvertrag individuell gestalten.

Auch ist es nicht wie bei einer GmbH erforderlich, dass die Gesellschaft ein bestimmtes Stammkapital aufbringen muss. Die Gesellschafter haben jedoch einen Beitrag zu dem Gelingen der GbR zu leisten und haben diese dann bei Bedarf finanziell auszustatten.

Was ist der Nachteil einer GbR?

Ein Grund, welcher gegen eine GbR spricht, ist die Haftung der Gesellschafter. Bei einer GbR haftet jeder Gesellschafter mit seinem Privatvermögen auch für die Verbindlichkeiten der GbR. Dies kann bei erhöhten Haftungsrisiken zu unerwünschten Folgen führen.

 

Wie wird eine GbR steuerlich behandelt?

Die GbR ist hinsichtlich der Ertragsteuern steuerlich transparent. Das bedeutet, dass die GbR nicht wie bei der GmbH Körperschaftssteuer zahlt, sondern die Gesellschafter der GbR Einkommensteuer zu zahlen haben. Das Jahresergebnis der GbR ist dann auf die einzelnen Anteile aufzuteilen. Jeder Gesellschafter hat dann Einkommensteuer auf den Gewinn seines Anteils zu zahlen. Hinzu muss der Gesellschafter 5,5 Prozent Solidaritätszuschlag auf die festgesetzte Einkommensteuer zahlen.

Folgende drei Vorteile sprechen für die Gründung einer GbR:

  1. Einfache und schnelle Gründung
  2. Keine besonderen Formalitäten zu beachten
  3. Kein Mindestkapital vorgesehen

Folgende drei Nachteile sprechen gegen die Gründung einer GbR

  1. Unzureichende gesetzliche Regelungen
  2. Persönliche Haftung der Gesellschafter
  3. Hauptsächlich für kleinere Betrieb interessant

Jetzt direkt Termin vereinbaren

Bei einer Neugründung können wir Ihnen die Gründung einer GbR zum Festpreis zu folgenden Konditionen anbieten:

Basic

210 zzgl. Umsatzsteuer

Medium

430 zzgl. Umsatzsteuer

Professional

610 zzgl. Umsatzsteuer
Umfassende Beratung zur Rechtsform
und den Besonderheiten der Gesellschaft
Planung und Durchführung der Gründung
Ausarbeitung des individuellen Gesellschaftsvertrag
(Satzung der Gesellschaft)
Bereitstellung einer Vorlage
für den Geschäftsführervertrag
Gewerbeanmeldung
Steuerliche Anmeldung beim Finanzamt

Oder Kontaktieren Sie uns wegen Ihres Anliegens


    Kontakt:Wittelsbacherstraße 18 | 10707 Berlin 030 407 417 31info@bildt-law.de